In Good Company

From cloud channeler, poet, teacher and music pusher Reuben Jackson who lives in Winooski, Vermont. Says Reuben about Misery Loves Company, “My aunt’s screen door somehow ended up in Winooski.” photoPhoto by Reuben Jackson

And, “I am hooked on their fiddlehead sammiches….and, of course, clouds.” Screen Shot 2013-05-10 at 9.13.56 AM

Misery Loves Company

Screen Shot 2013-05-10 at 9.14.17 AM
I am from hard boys
Who warned me not to quit school-
And crosstown cellists.

Sitting on the stoop
On quiet summer evenings-
A decade of rage.

Haunted by mentors
Who mainlined books and courage.
I have seen too much.

Reuben Jackson

Screen Shot 2013-05-10 at 9.14.41 AM

My misery always loves company. Especially good company. Reuben is good company.

Screen Shot 2013-05-10 at 9.14.47 AM

Warm spring afternoon.
When I think the coast is clear -
I smile at flowers.

Woman with a dog
Talks with me about teaching -
Beagle licks my face.

Entourage of wind
Makes a pass at new flowers.
I think of friends’ graves.

I would be this soft
If I trusted the world more-
An MGM song.

Reuben Jackson

Leave a Reply

