Eagerly Waiting for an Accident to Happen

≈¡Sabich!≈

Gesundheit!

The Accidental Vegetarian

sabich
Herbivoracious
(Is that not so pretty? It is! It is!)

What exactly is Sabich?  I asked around and this is what I found out:  It’s more modern than when I was in Israel. Had falafel, humous, tahini, all that stuff. Yum. But not a sabich. It sounds like someone with a bad cold trying to say sandwich. 

I tried to talk to an actual human, rather than getting it all from cyber-space. See where it got me? Right back in Google’s lap. 

From Master G: It is hummus, fried eggplant, steamed potatoes, (browned) hard-boiled egg, salad and amba (a mango pickle), all tucked neatly into a pita.

Neatly? This I would like to see, in real life, 3-D. And eat. Not neatly. A tidy construction till it meets my teeth. Press my face right into it, like you do with a wedge of watermelon. 


7 responses to “Eagerly Waiting for an Accident to Happen

  1. Mouth watering!! And the mango pickle has peaked my curiousity.

  2. midnight snack

    Me too! Let’s make it!

  3. that might be good in the july issue!

  4. I’d love to do a sandwich/sabich story!

  5. Hello 🙂
    I’m Israeli and American and I love Sabich.

    Sabich is Iraqi breakfast food. It usually doesn’t come with hummus. Instead it’s fried slices of eggplant, tehina, browned hardboiled egg (either sliced or mashed up), boiled potato, and salad.
    The salads are usually microgreens, cuke/tom/onion (“Israeli Salad), red cabbage, and then diced onions. Celery salt is also added.
    I find it to be really delicious!

  6. Yum. Thanks for your interesting comment. I would love to go to Israel and eat a sabich. Sounds fantastic for breakfast. How does a person brown a hardboiled egg? Slice or mash and fry it? Maybe I will try to make sabich at home.
    Snack

  7. I’m not totally sure, but if I’m not mistaken they hard-boil the eggs in tea-water. If you make the water brown with tea, the eggs will turn out brown but keep the same taste.

    Some places slice, others mash, no one fries. I prefer sliced, but mashed hardboiled eggs probably give the most consistent taste.

    If you’re going to try to make it at home, my advice to you is to slice the eggplant with a potato-peeler so it’s really thin (not paper-thin, just really thin) then salt it heavily and wait for a few hours, then brush off the salt and fry it in vegetable oil until it’s golden brown. Pat it dry with paper towel and set it aside.

    Then make the tehina. Take pre-made tehina and add it to water until it’s the consistency you want. Hardboil your eggs, and there you go.

    If you want any other advice about how to prepare Israeli food, let me know 🙂

Leave a Reply

