Toast Poast XXIX

STARSTRUCK

From Creston Lea up in Vermont:

I came home yesterday and found that piece of toast on my daughter’s table.
My wife has figured out the alluring powers of shaped toast in feeding a kid
who often says, “I don’t eat food.”

I’m trying to think of a single food reference in that book…pretty slim
pickings. My characters barely talk, much less eat. I think some Donettes
show up in Indian Summer Sunday. Oh…there IS some food talk in the story
called Let The Sad Times Roll On. No sandwiches, though…I don’t think.
Fennel? Artichokes?


Buy his book, Wild Punch. Read it, even if you are a person who says, “I don’t read books.”

SQUIRRELLUCK

Can you see the little cut-out star in the middle of his sandwich? Toasted the star for myself and had a tiny snack. My motto is: I eat food. In the narrowest, pre-industrial, sense of the word. Food. I wonder what Creston’s daughter eats. If not food, what is left?

2 responses to “Toast Poast XXIX

  1. That squirrel photo had me laughing out loud! What a hoot!

  2. midnight snack

    Our front porch squirrels are bold. He looked at me as if to say, “Whaaaat?”. Cracked me up.

Leave a Reply

