Fix Me a Plate, Wouldya Honey, Reprised

Why Do Sandwiches Taste Better When Someone Else Makes Them?
By Daniel Kahneman
New York Times, October 2, 2011

When you make your own sandwich, you anticipate its taste as you’re working on it. And when you think of a particular food for a while, you become less hungry for it later. Researchers at Carnegie Mellon University, for example, found that imagining eating M&Ms makes you eat fewer of them. It’s a kind of specific satiation, just as most people find room for dessert when they couldn’t have another bite of their steak. The sandwich that another person prepares is not “preconsumed” in the same way.

From Sorry-Birds Ellen
Thank you! What would I do without you? I shudder to imagine.

 

Not to be snarky, but is snarky a word?  Let’s say it is. Not to be snarky, but, duh. Really? Don’t ya know that food tastes so much better when someone else makes it? Actually, I don’t always feel that way. After traveling, I like to MAKE MY OWN FOOD.

In a daily drone, done-working, drudgery situation, I want food that I have never seen or touched or smelled. Not that I would eat dinner from 7-11.

I get the “preconsumed” thing, as disgusting as that sounds. Like something a baby bird might eat after momma bird regurgitates it. Ack. Did I just type regurgitate?

At a party recently, standing around in the kitchen with a bunch of “food people”, chefs and stuff, I said, unfortunately, “Aren’t you just so sick of food?” Hahaha. Awk-ward. They all said, with quizzically furrowed brows, “Uh…no.” Whoopsie. I was the only one still working lots and lots of hours, with my hands in food. Smelling it, feeling it, preconsuming it.

Fix me a sandwich, wouldya honey? And make it a surprise.

One response to “Fix Me a Plate, Wouldya Honey, Reprised

  1. Well Yes, Lisa – I can see your point. You are fully immersed in food, food prep, styling and all throughout your business day, possibly into evening. Enough already! Much like pro chefs who crave a simple burger or dog out of a street cart after hammering out 50 dollar entrees with shizu oil and fermented mint foam all night – return to some simple basic earthy fare – or just a beer and chaser to end a long day…

Leave a Reply

