Orexin Ephemera

Having a slow Saturday this holiday weekend at the Lunch Encounter. It is just too beautiful to be inside. So here I am, radio playing, counter spanking clean, orders placed, now what? Let’s clean the walk-in!

Rooting around in the basement, I came upon this post that sprung from a styling gig I had involving Oreo cookies. Wondering about the origin of the word Oreo, I had done a bit of research.

Oreo comes from the Greek root for appetizing as in orexin or orexigenic (appetite stimulating). And while I was at it, online and all, I wandered, uncovering Judith G Klausner, her amazing Oreo art and incredible embroidered toast. Toast!

I felt the need to blog (translate as “blurt), and to alert the Snitters of Knitwitz. SuitsHerselfCindy, a snitter who does not knit, grabbed the thread and followed it to thisiscolossal.com where she encountered this open-faced sandwich.


Beauty is often found in the most unlikely and overlooked places.

Artist Judith G. Klauser of Somerville finds her inspiration in small, everyday objects that easily recede into the background. In the past, she’s worked with insects, baby teeth and fingernails. She also works with food. Specifically, processed food.

In a series called “From Scratch,” Klauser uses Oreo cookies to make finely detailed cameos (she sculpts the frosting with toothpicks, pins and a sculpture stick); cereal, for her elaborate cross-stitch samplers; toast, as a base for embroidery and condiments, such as ketchup and mustard; and paint, to create wallpaper.

I’ve done some experiments making silhouettes using American cheese and decided I wanted to do something more detailed…the cheese can take it. My experiments involved letting the cheese sit out, unrefrigerated, to see what happened to the slices. It turns out they actually behave like Shrinky Dinks. If you leave American cheese out for months, it shrinks and hardens. It’s a little alarming in a food substance, but it certainly works well for me.

Read more here.

Judith G Klausner is a genius, a brilliant food artist, and I want to be her.

3 responses to “Orexin Ephemera

  1. Very cool! By the way, I think you are easily just as creative as those artists whom you admire and cite here. And I know you have the same tools in your kit—literally and metaphorically.

  2. Thank you, Liz! I am going to do something, sometime, that is not “work-for-hire”, just don’t know when. And hope to live long enough:)
    Thanks, Liz!!

    • I feel your pain, sistah. It’s hard to “make art for fun” when we are in “creative” professions. Not unlike “cooking for fun” when you work w/food all the time (as you discussed in your recent post.) It’s kinda like what is referred to as a busman’s holiday—you’d rather do something completely different with your personal time and energy! But, I like to think that just because something doesn’t have a frame around it, doesn’t mean it isn’t “art” or a “creative” effort. Some people’s entire lives and spirits are “creative efforts”–no official artist ID or “creative project” stamp required. I’m looking at you, kid.

Leave a Reply

