“Start where you are, use what you have, do what you can.”

Arthur Ashe would approve. There is a LOT to be said for making something manageable. Taking your creative life one bite at a time. One small card, two knitted socks, three pretty stones, four loose lettuce salads, five daisies in a bunch.

Am I an artist? No. Do I try to create everyday art every day? Yes. Art is in the eye of the beholder. Be the holder of your own art.

From today’s Huffington Post:

Artist Brittany Powell interpreted “sandwich art” literally; she replicated famous artists’ styles by using a slice of bread and some common sandwich ingredients. Powell and former classmate Tae Kitakata started Low-Commitment Projects at the beginning of 2012 — each Monday they publish a new post on their blog. Here’s how they describe their low-commitment venture:

“Low-Commitment Projects provides us a chance to share concepts and schemes without a huge outlay of time, energy, or money. These ventures are like the materialization of mental sketches; there’s minimal risk because they’re quick.”

Words to the wise from one who is in the choir. Fear not the looming to-do list. Venture out!

Thank you, FreshFarm-Amanda.
10 responses to ““Start where you are, use what you have, do what you can.”

  1. I just bought a refrigerator magnet that reminds me that, “Art is not a thing, it is a Way.”
    So the answer to, “Are you an artist?” is always, “Yes”. Whoever you are.

  2. My way to art is through this blog:)
    Thanks for the great comment, Tree At Large!

  3. I totally agree. 🙂

  4. I love this post! It is just strikes just the note required this morning. My weekend may well involve four soups. Let me know if someone should skate either way for a sample.

  5. Love the low-commitment projects concept!

  6. You are a culinary jazz musician. Creativity and craft. Or as Quincy Jones would say, “soul and science.”. Lucky us!

  7. Yay, thanks for posting about lowcommitmentprojects.com. We sometimes feel too much pressure to do our “real” work and don’t experiment enough, so hopefully this project series will remedy the situation.

    p.s. my husband has a sandwich blog too: sandwichaday.com

    p.p.s. I totally want your job. What great stuff you do.

  8. Hi Brittany,
    You inspired many, many people today. Hooray and thank you! I love your concept and projects. Cracks me up that your husband has a sandwich blog. Of course he does: ) I’m going to blog about that, too.

    Thanks for the compliment, too. My job is a good one because I get to work with my hands (among other reasons).

    Lisa

  9. I think I just adopted that as my life motto. Almost none of us is capable of producing grand art or life-altering scientific achievement. There is another genius to me–the ability to infuse art and joy into everyday life through imagination, resourcefulness and energy.

    Now I’m off to get a challah to make a blissful chopped liver and red onion sandwich to have with a cup of tea.

  10. A worthy life motto. And if you have adopted it, we all benefit!

    Challah. Challah. Challah. Who makes a good one. And who chopped the liver? Sounds so delicious. A little chopped egg, too maybe. And pepper. So delicious.

Leave a Reply

