Get Your Sticky Fingers on A Pair of Free Tickets!

Catch Doron Petersan of Sticky Fingers Bakery fame at Sixth and I in Washington, DC, on Thursday, March 1, 2012. Ms. Petersan will be there to speak, sign copies of her exciting new book, Sticky Fingers Sweets, 100 Super-Secret Vegan Recipes, and to offer tastings, too, of course.

The Lunch Encounter is pleased to offer TWO FREE TICKETS to this event! Get your stickiness on and write to me. What sticky foods make you the happy? Tell me about it! The lucky winner will be chosen via a criteria of originality, exuberance, and pure shamelessness.

DATE: Thursday, March 01, 2012
TIME: 7:00 pm
image Living the life as an Italian Jew from New York who turned vegan was challenging. Craving guilt laden foods, Doron Petersan was determined to unlock the secrets of creating their animal-free counterparts.Since opening the DC-based Sticky Fingers Bakery in 2002, Doron has been on a mission to dispel the myths that anything without butter or eggs can’t taste good, and that your palette will suffer for trying to make the world, your body, and your kitchen a better place. In Sticky Fingers’ Sweets! 100 Super-Secret Vegan Recipes, Doron shares the recipes and techniques behind her bakery’s most popular desserts and breakfast items.Sticky Fingers’ Sweets offers a range of recipes including Chocolate Love Cake, George Carmelin Cupcake (chocolate spice cake with vanilla frosting)—Doron’s vegan cupcake was declared the winner of a recent Food Network Cupcake Wars—Cowvin Cookies (the most popular item at the bakery), Little Devils (inspired by classic Devil Dogs), Peanut Butter and Banana Whoopie Pie, and Seoul Sticky Bread, among dozens of others. Book signing to follow.

No sandwiches in the new book. Boo hoo. Better luck next time in the literary department for those of us stuck more on savory than sweet. They do serve sandwiches at the bakery, though, so an in person visit is in order.

7 responses to “Get Your Sticky Fingers on A Pair of Free Tickets!

  1. I’m in a quandary. I don’t like sticky, or sweet. Sorry. The closest I get is shrimp fra’diavolo, which usually involves picking up the spicy/ sweet shrimp and eating them by hand out of the hot red sauce and licking my fingers constantly. Don’t make it at home much for that reason, but order it out on occasion just to gloat and piss off more restrained diners. It is a MESS, but in a GOOD way.

  2. paula levin-alcorn

    OK – you said shameless, right? So in an attempt to try and meet Doron at the synagogue, I’m going to shamelessly play the Jewish Girl with Bangs card. Sticky, you say? Just the word alone took me right back to childhood and my Yiddish Grandmother’s Teiglach/Taiglach/Teglach/ טײגלעךְ – you know how the Jews love to have multiple spellings for any word. Literally it means “little dough”, and they are small, knotted pastries boiled in a honeyed syrup. OMG – YUM!!!!! They are a traditional Ashkenazi Jewish treat for Rosh Hashana, Sukkot, Simchat Torah, and Purim. My grandma would make them for Rosh Hashanah (Happy New Year!!!), and wold keep them in this big, clear jar right next to the dining room table. So while I sat there eating chopped liver, tongue, brisket and all of the other things that made me become a vegetarian, I would longingly eye up the taiglach and wait patiently for dessert. When the time came, I dove in and was just covered in honey, requiring a taiglach bath immediately after dinner. Oy vey!!! Girl, that’s sticky.

  3. Oooooh, this is FUN!!!!! Thanks to you both!

  4. What’s next Lisa – toffee that pulls your fillings out? Oy. And yes, I have had Taiglach, though it was many years ago. I grew up just outside NYC so great Jewish food was available throughout the area. Yes, sticky stuff, but we loved it!

  5. No sandwiches??? Did you not see the recipe for Cowvin cookie sandwiches; creamy vanilla frosting nestled between two oat cookies? And what about little devils; creamy vanilla frosting spread between two layers of dark devil cake and coated in chocolate? Sweet sandwiches ‘how to’ for every desire in the cookie section as well. No sandwiches… I think you need to come and chat with me March 1. I’ll show you ‘no sandwich’.

  6. Peeling off chunks of tamarind paste for pad thai. That’s sticky.

  7. Oh, I stand SOOO corrected. Need to have my sticky hand slapped:)
    Thank you, Doron! You know, I’d LOVE to come, I really would, but I’ll be in LA that week. Very disappointed. Let’s meet another time and you can show me ‘no sandwich’, which I would ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

