Brain Freeze

Screen Shot 2013-04-02 at 5.18.29 PM

“Well he handed me a mouth harp and a cold brain sandwich, got in that ancient Cadillac and headed for the ditch.”

Screen Shot 2013-04-02 at 4.36.00 PM

My favorite band –  The Bottle Rockets –  has a new song! Here’s a tease. I’m hanging the rest of my year on this snippet and watching their tour dates. Sooner or later before 2013 is out they must be headed for this Virginia ditch. Until then, my brain’s on freeze, sitting on ice waiting it out. Oh lord I can’t wait to see ’em and say…Yeah!

Headed for the Ditch

Well they want us to eat shit and say thanks
Yeah they wanna hand you paper and you can take that to the bank
Well I scratch their back but I still got my itch
Saying Sammy can’t drive 55 but I’m headed for the ditch…Yeah!
The mood is ugly like they want to kill us
Accountants and lawyers acting like their Bruce Willis
Well they want us to turn down and play the blues
They want Mercedes-Benz all they got is BMW’s
So like trained fleas you got to please the famous bar bitch
This road goes on forever so I’m headed for the ditch…Bye!
Well I got a little drunk my head was swimming
I had this dream and it was not about women
I saw this hippie and I think it was Neil Young
He said “I heard your song its already been sung”
Well then he handed me a mouth harp and a cold brain sandwich
Got in the ancient Cadillac and headed for the ditch
‘Ol Neil got in the ancient Cadillac and headed for the ditch….See ‘ya!

See ya! Yes please. And may we see, please, a new album? A brain sandwich of an album. A hearty, heavenly, savory and sweet filling sandwiched by the brainwave genius of Eric Roscoe Ambel. Yes please.

 

Leave a Reply

