#wafflesAREbreadyanoodnik

Waffles Are Everywhere

When I worked at the Tabard Inn I sometimes made special grilled sandwiches (on bread) in the waffle iron (the bread ended up looking like a waffle) until I got busted for ruining the iron – too much butter ran down into the workings. The appliance repair guy took a look inside, inspecting the goop. “Hmm,” he said with a puzzled tone.

Pretty yummy wiches until then. Crunchy on the outside, creamy on the inside. With little butter-crisp dents all over.

A few weeks ago I styled a “Waffle Breakfast Taco” for USA Weekend Magazine which was a round waffle folded and filled with breakfast taco stuff – eggs, cheese, salsa, pork. Finding a round waffle maker that particular day was no small task, don’t you know. Screen Shot 2013-04-29 at 5.14.32 AM

The waffle had corn meal in it, and the whole thing seemed like a great idea.

Thank you Sorry-Birds Ellen, for sending me this link. I love Sandwich Monday and also subscribe to the Salt, but I never ever look at either one unless someone reminds me. Thank you!

Screen Shot 2013-04-29 at 5.07.57 AM

Sandwich Monday: Chicken and Waffles

Screen Shot 2013-04-29 at 5.08.29 AM

 It’s Monday today, as it was just seven days ago. Bring me a sandwich!

2 responses to “#wafflesAREbreadyanoodnik

  1. My mouth is watering for waffles. They are great at soaking up the tears of gratitude and the saliva of gluttony that go with eating a waffle 😉

  2. Mine too. We had a waffle party one time. Had three irons going and then blew a fuse. Lived in a flat at the time and couldn’t get to the locked fusebox in the basement. Wonder what we did. I can’t remember…

Leave a Reply

