These Are the Grazing Days

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 9.45.09 AM

Graze is in Madison, Wisconsin, a place that if you know me, you know I daydream about often. It’s my holy grail, existent only in my mind, I suppose. Were I to live there, my fantasy would go up in a smoke, like the odorous haze lifting off sileage.

Even under the cloud of the governor whose name will not grace this page, Madison remains civilized. Maybe even pushing smug. But, you know, they get it right in so many ways, self-satisfaction is forgivable.

Just a narrow isthmus, this town carries a blaze of of appetite-worthy sandwich destinations.

Graze is a little fancy. Check out the pickle plate. Maybe not a place for boys.

I was fortunate enough to have lunch with Joanie and Claire there a while back. We grazed, yes, but felt like fillies, not calves. Still do, we’re deep in our spring chicken phase.

Today, for example, we could have any of these for lunch. Madison is no flyover town, that’s for sure. Land at their sweet airport and catch yourself a Union cab to the square for a sun-bathed lunch. A lazy day…

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 9.56.15 AM

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 9.44.01 AM

In a haze, got the doldrums? Wondering, “Do they make (fill in the blank) anymore ?”  Short daze getting to ya? They do me. Off we go to ~snap out of it~! Taking a graze through a fantasy – southern Wisconsin rolling hills, happy cows, sparkly lakes, a town that tends itself well. Take note – not accepting nays – love thyself, no grays.

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 9.45.03 AM

2 responses to “These Are the Grazing Days

  1. Haven’t been there in awhile, I might have to add it to my long list of places to eat while I’m there over Christmas. Will my family mind if all I do is eat out?

  2. Not if you take them along:) Let me know if you discover any more good sammyspots while you are there, Ellen!

Leave a Reply

