All Manner of Superlative Sandwich

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 6.55.16 PM

Geoff’s Superlative Sandwiches

Mr. Daaaavid KMetzzzzzzzz sent me this. Whattaguy! Does he know sandwich? Heck yeah, he does!!

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 6.53.45 PM

While a student at RISD, one of my fave places to eat was Geoff’s Sandwiches on Benefit Street. It was in the #200’s on that street – less than a block from my apartment… I confess I couldn’t escape their sandwichtational pull!

It was the first place I encountered that had a vast assortment of offerings and great names to many of the sandwiches (this was circa 1973-78) – the Marlene Dietrich, the Jackie Kennedy, “Tosh’s Twister” – if my addled memory serves; hot ham and smoked turkey with melted swiss on rye with saurkraut and Tosh’s hot mayo/ horseradish sauce.

Geoff’s prepares most of their sandwiches in a pressure / steamer thing that melts the cheese and makes the ingredients get happy. Brought tears to my eyes from the heat, which I squelched with a cold Dr. Pepper. It wasn’t the Japanese wasabi mustard served today, but pretty close. There was something called a Bob Tomlinson that I also liked, but 30 years + have erased the memory of that one. Who was Bob Tomlinson?

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 6.54.51 PM

One of my favorite combos at home for “sammys”, as my wife calls them, is preserved tuna packed in oil, a slice of hot (or sweet) capacolla, sharp provolone and the light green inner leaves of Romaine lettuce, all served on a widish sourdough baguette. Ooh La la! Preserved tuna is not cheap, but what the hey? Half a jar goes a long way. I don’t make a steady diet of these bad boys.

Don’t you roll your eyes at me, tuna snobs! Make your own canned tuna. Oh yum!

Leave a Reply

