Kewpie Mayonnaise

Kewpie packageScreen Shot 2015-08-29 at 8.27.13 PM

Kewpie Mayonnaise

So, found an interesting new-to-me product and a luxe sandwich while at my day job. Kewpie Mayonnaise gave me that never-seen-it/now-it-is-everywhere experience.

To my good fortune, Meat and Livestock Australia– think super high quality lamb, beef and goat meat, used my foodstyling services this summer to help put together fifty images of fifty recipes. Working with recipes, rather than simply products, is always a learning experience for me and gives me a peek into other cook’s mindsets. The experience varies, which is probably part of the definition of experience.

 

Grass-fed Bulgolgi Style Beef Banh Mi
Yield: 4 servings
Portion Size: 1 sandwich
Alternate cuts:
Amount Prep Ingredient
4 loaves sliced Baguettes
1 cup prepared ahead Liver Spread
2 pounds 1/4” thinly sliced Australian Grass-fed Strip Steak
12 each ¼” thinly sliced Brie Cheese
½ cup picked Red Ribbon Sorrel Leaves
½ cup picked Cilantro Leaves
1 cup pickled, chopped Mix of Carrot, Daikon and Bell Pepper
¼ cup sliced Jalapenos
½ cup   Kewpie Mayonnaise
Method of Preparation
1.     Toast the sliced open baguettes until slightly crisped in a toaster oven, around 1 minute at 350F

2.     Spread the liver pate evenly on the bottom side.

3.     Add the sliced brisket, around 4 0z worth and spoon a little bit of the sauce that settled.

4.     Place 3 slices of the brie cheese over it.

5.     Add the Jalapeno, cilantro and pickled vegetables.

6.     Spread the kewpie mayonnaise on the other side of the bun.

7.     Season with salt and pepper and serve

 

Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 8.31.49 PM


IMG_5228

Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 8.33.10 PM

Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 8.30.22 PM IMG_5213

Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 8.24.39 PM

10 responses to “Kewpie Mayonnaise

  1. That has to be the cutest mayo I have ever seen!!

  2. I love me some banh mi!!! Your styling always leaves me hungry…

  3. Me too about the banh mi. One of the 20th century’s stellar mash ups. Look for Kewpie in your mailbox

  4. What, you just discovered it? I’m surprised you’ve always been ahead of the curve to me. It’s the best and easy to make ourselves! Hope you’re well!

  5. I did, David. While working on a shoot for Australian lamb. I try to be in the know, but it is so fun to find something new (new to me), too! Great to hear from you and thanks so much for the nice comment!

  6. The Kewpie doll mascot in this context for their branding reminds me of a cross between Hello Kitty and the Campbell’s kids! And, of course, the food looks delicious!

  7. And what is the origin of the Kewpie, anyway? And from what era?
    Thank you, Liz!

  8. Re: the origin of “Kewpie”: I Googled “Kewpie” and found this
    interesting article, explaining that Kewpies first appeared in 1909,
    as an illustration, drawn and named by American illustrator Rosie
    O’Neill: http://www.collectorsweekly.com/dolls/kewpie

  9. Super interesting. Rosie O’Neill had an action-packed and varied life – twice divorced by 1909, a millionaire, a dreamer, illustrator. I love knowing that Kewpie comes from Cupid. Fascinating. Also, the Kewpie looks like a precursor to anime girls to me. My son is obsessed with anime girls and I can see why. We do love big kitteny eyes. Thanks, Liz!!!

Leave a Reply

