The Billboard Hot Five

It’s been a long time since I’ve darkened the door of the Lunch Encounter and I apologize for the neglect. Good to see that my favorite stool at the counter is a bit dusty from the wait. Let’s give it a spin and a swipe, lean both elbows in, call out to the grill man and have lunch! It’s on me. What’s your pleasure?

Screen Shot 2016-05-01 at 9.25.51 AM

Screen Shot 2016-05-01 at 9.26.07 AM

The Best Sandwich Ever

What are YOUR five favorite sandwiches? Mine, in no particular order: a classic Reuben, the Cubano, egg salad on toasted rye with crunchy lettuce and raw onion, any New Jersey Sloppy Joe, the muffaletta.

Thank you for the alert, Sorry-Birds Ellen. It was time I got back in the sandwich saddle.
7 responses to “The Billboard Hot Five

  1. This is tough because the memories are rusty and because there are so many! Off the top of my head, and in no particular order: The “Big Large Club” cheesesteak from Greasy Tony’s in New Brunswick, NJ from the early 1970s, a corned beef & pastrami combo from NYC’s Katz’s, a giant eggplant parm hero from Manganaro’s Hero Boy, also in NYC, almost any muffalato in New Orleans, and, finally, the grilled cheese with Danish salami, fried in butter, that I used to make myself when the munchies struck. Some of these might “remember better” than they actually were, but writing about them has made me HUNGRY!

  2. Some of my faves, in no particular order:
    1. Smoked salmon and onions w/cream cheese on an everything bagel
    2. Roasted or grilled chicken breast w/mayo & lettuce on whole wheat toast
    3. Peanut butter on whole wheat toast
    3. Chopped pork BBQ on a potato roll w/coleslaw and BBQ sauce
    4. Tomato and lettuce w/mayo on whole wheat toast
    5. Hardboiled egg and sliced baked ham w/mayo, mustard & spinach on whole wheat toast

  3. Oh for heaven’s sake, I forgot Peanut Butter and Banana, which is my childhood favorite. That might even be my adult favorite. Right up there!

  4. Parisi: Little Italy: Best I’ve ever tasted in the city. The mailroom at NYC would get a posse together and drive down from 52nd st/7th.
    Classic italian ingredients & bread choices. Now, I cant stop there, I go to main drag music in williamsburg and after, pick up Italian Stallion hero (hot) from rodriquez at Berry/Grand. $ 8-00. Still old school in the hipster hood. Havn’t missed a pick up yet.

  5. Any sandwich at 46 in Lake Placid, especially on the Asiago roll! But I live a good tuna with lettuce, tomato, onion and – ideally – roasted red peppers on whole wheat or a baguette. Or! The turkey with cranberry and stuffing in a baguette at Privisions on Nantucket. Or! The veggie on whole wheat at Claudette’s, also on Nantucket. ☺️

  6. You know what else is really good? Warm, ripe tomato slices on good white sandwich bread with good mayonnaise. Or regular old mayonnaise. Or regular old white bread. Tomato sandwich, yeah!

  7. Liz, I want to come to your kitchen for a sandwich! Mick, I want to come to your town for a sandwich! Karen, I want to get together with you anywhere at all for a sandwich! It’s been way too long. In the meantime everyone, I am going to google Parisi, Rodriguez, 46, Provisions and Claudette’s. I have never been to Lake Placid or Nantucket. Bout time I got there!

    Thank you for posting everyone. Sandwich love is so universal and also so personal. That’s what makes the world go round.

Leave a Reply

