Identifying As

Salty pork roll vs. Taylor Ham debate may rest in politicians’ hands

Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 8.21.21 AM
Two competing bills are before the Legislature on whether New Jersey’s official sandwich should be pork roll, egg and cheese or Taylor Ham, egg and cheese. 

TRENTON — Is it pork roll or Taylor Ham? The processed meat product is a staple of breakfast sandwiches in New Jersey, but the question of what to call it has long divided the state. Read on here.

And you may weigh in, as well. Are we defined by what we eat or by what we name what we eat? Lord have merciful pork product, it’s a rivalry – Taylor Ham or Pork Roll! Not being from New Jersey I am free to like both equally. Whew, that’s a load off my identifier.

Rolls of thanks to Joan Lebow, New Jersey sandwich sleuth.
2 responses to “Identifying As

  1. I was born in New York, but transitioned to New Jersey when I was 3. So I identify as trans -border (with the Lincoln Tunnel being the dividing line). While I did have”bottom surgery” at a very young age (also known as a bris) I don’t believe my self-identity is based on that, seeing as how I consume quite a bit of ham in many forms – mostly as a Joe when I can get it. “Pork roll”?? WTF! I may be tolerant but no way – sounds like something Chris Christie would eat.

  2. I got it from a certified expert that the proper name is Taylor ham. You seem to be a polyporkist, LRoy. Or Hamiversalist maybe.

Leave a Reply

