Share and Share Alike

I’m looking to others for inspiration this year, as I am falling short on thankfulness. I feel it in my head, but my heart is a reluctant follower. Some years are like that, a contrast that magnifies the swelling when heartfelt thankfulness does kick in. Typing now, reflecting on the ebbs and flows of happiness, my heart has perked up, a faint slow thrumming in the far corner of one ventrical.

A meal with family and friend-family is sure to kick up the warmth deep down. Is that not the key service of tradition, a trigger to connectedness and interior calm? Jeez, I hope it clicks today. It’s been a tough year in so many ways for so many.

But, as has been remarked many, many times recently, Mother Nature continues to awe us, outside and in – the beautiful trees, the changing skies, the delicious food coming to our tables from gardens and farms.

We may not be able to ask for a command performance of thankfulness, but we can wait patiently, with a place set.

Epic!

4 responses to “Share and Share Alike

  1. Girl it ain’t all bad. You got your work and your family. You have an excellent moral compass. You can cook and bake.

  2. You are absolutely right! And thank you for the compliment about my moral compass – a person has to keep track of that thing. For Thanksgiving Theo said he was thankful for Jaclyn and I said I was thankful to be able to make a living. That about covers it – family and work. Of course, we have to keep our head under the covers about certain aspects of the bigger picture. ACK!

    Hope you had a great Thanksgiving! I know from Instagram that Maddy was there and I imagine she keeps everything lively:)

  3. I’m a bit late on this but still wanted to add a thought: Your last sentence, “We may not be able to ask for a command performance of thankfulness, but we can wait patiently, with a place set.” reminds me of a quote from Twyla Tharp:

    “I begin each day of my life with a ritual: I wake up at 5:30 A.M., put on my workout clothes, my leg warmers, my sweatshirts, and my hat. I walk outside my Manhattan home, hail a taxi, and tell the driver to take me to the Pumping Iron gym at 91st Street and First Avenue, where I work out for two hours. The ritual is not the stretching and weight training I put my body through each morning at the gym; the ritual is the cab. The moment I tell the driver where to go I have completed the ritual.”

    In other words, Lisa – perhaps the most important part about practicing gratitude is to always set a place for her.

  4. Ok, whooooaaaaa, I have goose bumps, I kid you not. Twyla and you are so riiight. Hail me a cab!

Leave a Reply

